• Gap Year Series


    Key Information

    8 x 60′
    Year of production
    Country of origin
    United Kingdom
    Produced by
    Eleven, eOne
    New & Returning
    Intended distribution
    Made for TV

    Language versions





    From the BAFTA-nominated producers of the critically acclaimed series Glue and The Enfield Haunting, Gap Year is an eight-part comedy-drama for E4 (UK) that follows a motley gang of travellers who embark on a three-month trip around Asia. British lads Sean and Dylan meet American girls May and Ashley in Beijing and opt to undergo the first leg of their travels together, but soon find that their journey takes them much further than any of them expected. The series features a stellar writing team including Tom Basden (Fresh Meat), James Wood (Rev), Loren McLaughlan (Shameless), Amy Roberts (Shameless), Sam Leifer (Plebs), Charlie Covell (Banana), Tim Key (Alan Partridge) and Johnny Sweet (Together).

    Despite wielding travel guides, digital cameras and water purification tablets, the gang is not treating this as a holiday, and all have a personal quest that’s brought them halfway round the world. Will the gang manage to find the nirvana they seek as they camp on the Great Wall, wade through jungles in Malaysia, rub shoulders with expats in Singapore and the crowds that throng the streets of Kathmandu? Or will they lose their money, their passports and control of their bowels in a filthy backpacking hostel that doesn’t exist on Google Maps? None of them get what they hoped for, but all gain something better, as they learn that no matter how far you go and how hard you try, you can’t take a holiday from yourself.

    Additional Information

    • E4's highest-rated drama for over 18 months (A16-24) [L+SD]

    • +72% above the broadcaster slot average among A16-24 [L+7]

    • More than double E4'S (UK) primetime slot (+180% Men 16-24, +114% Women 16-24, +138% Adults 16-24)

    • “I’ll have a piece of this: mind if I tag along, too?” – The Guardian

    • "There's plenty to keep you watching" – Chortle

    • “Charming and witty, the whole cast is highly appealing” – Heat Magazine

    • "Laughs and fun in the sun... Gorgeous" - Radio Times


    Season Breakdown:
    • S1: 8 x 60 min (2017)

    Formerly known as "Foreign Bodies"

    Cast & Crew

    Jonathan van Tulleken
    Key talent(s)
    Anders Hayward, Ade Oyefeso, Brittney Wilson, Alice Lee, Tim Key, Irene Choi